The City & Guilds Level 3 NVQ Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety is for people who have an element of responsibility for health and safety in their workplace. It allows learners to prove their knowledge and competence using written narrative statements with documented supporting evidence of their practical application.

The NVQ Certificate is for learners who wish to develop their skills and knowledge about occupational health and safety good practice within the workplace. Typical roles include team leaders, supervisors, safety representatives, managers and heads of department.

To achieve the Level 3 NVQ Certificate, learners must complete seven mandatory units.

The following five units are mandatory:

  • Ensure responsibility for actions to reduce risks to health and safety
  • Develop procedures to safely control work operations
  • Monitor procedures to safely control work operations
  • Promote a culture of health and safety in the workplace
  • Conduct a health and safety risk assessment of the workplace.

They must complete two of the following units:

  • Investigate and evaluate health and safety incidents and complaints in the workplace
  • Make sure actions in the workplace aim to protect the environment
  • Review health and safety procedures in the workplace
  • Supervise the health, safety and welfare of a learner in the workplace.

Learners can complete units in any order to best suit their current projects and workload. 

There are no formal examinations. The assessment criteria are categorised into learning outcomes and then into broader units. Each unit covers different aspects of health and safety management techniques.

Learners are expected to achieve the qualification within 12-18 months and will receive support from their assessor in the workplace.

For more information please email