The Level 5 Diploma is for health and safety practitioners who have the ability and scope to develop, implement, monitor and review policies and procedures in relevant health and safety management matters. The Diploma is designed to assess and verify your health and safety management within the workplace. The learner will report to or be part of the senior management team.

The Diploma is a vocational qualification, which allows learners to prove their knowledge and competence using written narrative statements with documented supporting evidence of their practical application of occupational health and safety management techniques.

To achieve the Level 5 Diploma, learners must complete 11 mandatory units:

402 Develop and implement effective communication systems for health and safety information

510 Promote a positive health and safety culture

511 Develop and maintain individual and organisational competence in health and safety matters

512 Control health and safety risks

513 Develop and implement proactive monitoring systems for health and safety

514 Develop and implement reactive monitoring systems for health and safety

515 Develop and implement health and safety emergency response systems and procedures

516 Develop and implement health and safety review systems

517 Develop and implement a health and safety audit

518 Behavioural safety in the workplace

610 Develop and implement the health and safety policy.

IOSH Graduate Membership status

To achieve IOSH Graduate Membership status, learners must also complete the following unit:

611 Professional development and ethics in health and safety management

Elective units

The following units are optional and allow learners to demonstrate their competence in more specific occupational health and safety areas. Learners interested in adding any of these units to their Diploma or requiring further information should contact their British Safety Council Account Manager.

519 Influence improvements in health and safety practice

520 Develop, implement and review the organisational health and safety strategy

521 Contribute to health and safety legal actions

522 Manage contractors to ensure compliance with health and safety

523 Develop and implement the health and safety induction process.

Learners can complete units in any order to best suit their current projects and workload.

There are no formal examinations. The assessment criteria are categorised into learning outcomes and then into broader units. Each unit covers different aspects of health and safety management techniques. Learners are expected to achieve the qualification within 18-24 months and will receive support from their assessor in the workplace.

Please email us for further information